We made it! The drive was long, and pretty hot. Western Missouri and Oklahoma were damn hot. Like stick your arm out of the window and it feels like a blast furnace hot. The duma, even with its lack of A/C, made it through and we made it to Flagstaff. Kurt and and I showed up at the downtown diner at 8:30am and then did some shopping (including picking up my computer! Hooray its fixed!). We then headed to Lisa's house (Kevin's friend from when he was in seattle, who is on the trip and grew up in flagstaff) with a little trepidation, mostly because we had never talked to her really and the arrangements had been made for us (plus we were wicked early)
anyhow When we showed up, the only person at the house was their friend, who is an inner city kid from boston (his shirt said D is for Drunk) who was staying with them for a bit. We were a little confused.
Anyhoo, Lisa showed up, and Kurt and I spent just enough time socializing to make it not awkward anymore and then passed out for a few hours because we were zombies.
So then I wake up and stumble out of the room and immediately meet Her parents (Who are awesome) Pretty soon after that Lisa's dad, Karl, asked if I wanted to go for a ride (he saw my bike on the roof) And I went - it was awesome. Super fun trails, basically in their backyard (like the green to thayer). Pretty national forest. Awesome. I was not expecting to have this much play time before the Grand actually started.
I bought a time for my DSLR and decided that I wanted to play with time lapse photography and decided to document the drive. I mounted my camera in a few places in my car (until I settled on the rear passenger window) and took a picture every 20min (with a few extra that I took manually). Its real rough, but here is the results. I'll keep playing with it. I think this could be real cool for some other drives out west (I think it will work well out the front window as well..
Check the previous posts for other highlights of Kurt and my drive.
No comments:
Post a Comment